Meet Anna Poliski, Project Engineer

Author: Leslie Riley Published: April 3, 2024

Where are you from and where do you live now?

I grew up in Salem, a city in South Jersey, and I went to college in Syracuse, New York. After college, I lived in Buffalo, New York, before moving to New Zealand. I lived there for a few years before moving to Seattle, where I’ve been for two years now.

What do you do at MFA?

I’m a project engineer who is focused on environmental compliance and regulatory support related specifically to spill prevention, stormwater, and hazardous waste.

What do you find rewarding about your job?

I love working with clients to ensure that they are in compliance and that they are following best management practices to protect our land and waterways. I really enjoy being able to work with a diverse range of clients to get a glimpse into unique industries that I may have never been exposed to.

Why is what you do important?

Helping clients stay in compliance with established environmental rules and regulations ensures that we’re protecting natural resources.

What skills do you bring to your work?

I’m a good communicator, I’m organized, and I finish things on time. I can look at facilities with a critical eye from a regulatory perspective and figure out what issues clients might encounter. I really enjoy helping the client correct an issue before it becomes a compliance issue.

What’s the best advice you’ve received from a work colleague?

Some of the best advice I’ve received includes addressing a problem immediately instead of ignoring it and asking for help and using open communication when things are not working. Problems will not be solved magically.

What is your favorite MFA project that you have worked on and why?

I enjoyed working on the NEXT Renewable Energy project in Clatskanie, Oregon. I helped create a stormwater management plan for a proposed biodiesel fuel facility. The project was really complex and interesting!

If you were not an engineer, what would you be?

I would be a librarian. I enjoy reading and was a library assistant in college. I think I would enjoy the slower pace and helping people with tasks.

What’s on your bucket list?

I’m planning to visit Japan in September. I’ve never been to Asia, and I’m excited to experience a new culture and place. I think that after that, I would just like to continue traveling and seeing as much of the world as possible.

What was your favorite childhood movie show?

I watched the movie Grease on repeat with my sister.

What’s your favorite restaurant/place to go in your area?

I really like brunch at Cafe Flora in Seattle. It has great vegetarian and vegan options and a great atmosphere. It’s near the Washington Park Arboretum, so it’s in a beautiful area. I also love Discovery Park—it’s a beautiful spot on the Sound and a great place to go for walk or have a picnic on a sunny day.

What do you like to do off the clock?

I love spending time outdoors hiking and backpacking. I also enjoy the occasional surf or ski trip. When I’m not outside, I enjoy sewing, reading, and cooking.

staff image

Anna Poliski, PE

Project Engineer

(206) 858-7617